Union Square clients represented in NSW Architecture Awards

Congratulations to Johnson Pilton Walker and Tanner Kibble Denton, Union Square customers who have been nominated in this year’s NSW Architecture Awards. Taking place on the 1st of July at Australian Technology Park, we wish every success to both companies.

Johnson Pilton Walker is a multi-disciplinary design practice carrying out a wide variety of work in Australia and overseas. They are acknowledged for their expertise in architecture, urban design, landscape architecture, planning, and interior and exhibition design. JPW consistently delivers innovative projects of all types, and have completed projects from modest residential additions to significant urban redevelopment schemes. They have been widely recognized in the industry picking up awards including the Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture at the 2015 National Architecture Awards.

Tanner Kibble Denton architects is a multi-disciplinary practice that brings together the skills of contemporary architecture, adaptive re-use, interior design, urban design and strategic planning. Embracing a wide range of architectural building types, their experience covers many project sectors including public, commercial, educational, residential developments and individual houses. TKD are no stranger to awards, being previous winners of the Premiers Prize at the NSW Architecture Awards 2014.

JPW and TKD collaborated in the design of 5 Martin Place, fusing a reimagined and revitalised heritage building with a soaring new glass tower to create a next generation workplace in Sydney’s most iconic commercial, ceremonial and civic heart. Built in 1913, the ‘Money Box,’ is one of Sydney’s heritage listed sandstone buildings. In July 2015, JPW and TKD unveiled their completed redesign displaying a unique combination of original heritage grandeur with ultra-modern features and high tech materials.

The project has been shortlisted in 4 categories at the 2016 New South Wales Architecture Awards; Urban Design, Commercial Architecture, Heritage (Conservation and Creative Adaption), and COLORBOND Award for Steel Architecture.